At LanguageHumanities, we're committed to delivering accurate, trustworthy information. Our expert-authored content is rigorously fact-checked and sourced from credible authorities. Discover how we uphold the highest standards in providing you with reliable knowledge.

Learn more...

What Is the Nobel Prize for Literature?

The Nobel Prize for Literature is a prestigious award recognizing writers who have produced outstanding work in the field of literature. It honors literary excellence across genres, celebrating authors whose words have profoundly impacted readers worldwide. This accolade not only elevates writers but also sparks global conversations about human experiences. What might we uncover about our world through this year's laureate?
S. McCumber
S. McCumber

The Nobel Prize for Literature is awarded every year by the Royal Swedish Academy to an author who has published a work deemed outstanding by a committee appointed by the academy. The author must be nominated by someone who has been asked by the academy to act as a nominee. The Nobel Prize was established by Alfred Nobel to recognize achievements in various arts and sciences on an annual basis. The first Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded in 1901 to Sully Prudhomme for his works of poetry.

The selection process is considered rigorous and begins at least a year before the prize is awarded in October or November. Nominations are collected from around 1,000 people who have been asked to submit their recommendations to the committee. The winner is chosen by committee from around 100 to 250 nominees. The committee responsible for selection consists of past Nobel Prize winners, academics, acclaimed authors, members of the academy and others. The committee begins its deliberations in February and its recommendation for a winner is sent to the academy in September or October.

Nobel Peace Center in Oslo, Norway.
Nobel Peace Center in Oslo, Norway.

The winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature is awarded a diploma, a medal and a cash award, as well as the opportunity to lecture at the academy. The majority of the winners have been nominated for novels and works of poetry, though essayists and playwrights have also been honored. It is generally accepted that an author is nominated for his entire body of work, though several winners were honored for single works of great renown.

One of the medals awarded to Nobel Prize winners.
One of the medals awarded to Nobel Prize winners.

There has been much controversy surrounding the Nobel Prize for Literature. Criteria have unofficially changed several times over the years. Some people believe the works of the winners should champion an ideal of the human condition, while others believe literary merit and more contemporary ideals should be the criteria. This has caused many of the great authors of the 20th century — such as James Joyce, Leo Tolstoy, Marcel Proust and Anton Chekov — to be left off the list, while several authors of lesser renown, such as Dario Fo and Herta Muller, have been included.

The Nobel Prize for Literature was not intended to take into account politics or affiliation when it was established; however, controversy in regards to politics has followed the prize throughout its history. There have been instances in which winners have declined to accept the prize, in spite of its prestige and large cash award. Many respected authors have been passed over for the award, and speculation and rumors have abounded that they were passed over for their politics or beliefs.

You might also Like

Discussion Comments


@irontoenail - Well, it's not entirely bad, and they do select some amazing authors, but the problem is that it's supposed to be a world-wide prize, and almost all the judges are white men from Europe. Now they can claim to not have any bias, but the numbers of people of color who have actually won a Nobel Prize for Literature speak otherwise.


@MrsPramm - I wouldn't cry myself to sleep over a Nobel Prize, to be honest. I don't know much about the politics around the literature prize, but I do know that the Peace Prize is highly politically motivated and has a lot more to do with trends than it does with actual peace. I imagine the same is true of the literature prize.


One of the other things to consider is that you can only receive the Nobel Prize if you are alive. They won't award it posthumously. And I know there is a kind of joke in the scientific community that what it really takes to win a Nobel is the ability to outlive your peers, because many discoveries become more and more important as time goes by and they are used in different ways.

The same is sort of true for literature. If you wrote a book fifty years ago and it is still popular then that is definitely proof of your longevity as an artist. But if you don't live to see that popularity then you won't be able to get the Prize either.

Post your comments
Forgot password?
    • Nobel Peace Center in Oslo, Norway.
      Nobel Peace Center in Oslo, Norway.
    • One of the medals awarded to Nobel Prize winners.
      One of the medals awarded to Nobel Prize winners.