We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.
Advertiser Disclosure
Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.
How We Make Money
We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently of our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Is the Third Declension?

By Franklin Jeffrey
Updated May 23, 2024
Our promise to you
Language & Humanities is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At Language & Humanities, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject-matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Nouns are used in several different ways, such as to show possession or as the subject of a sentence. When a person takes a noun and lists all of its different forms according to how the noun is used, it is called a declension. In Latin, however, each noun can have seven singular and seven plural forms, and the rules governing the endings used determine to which declension the noun belongs. First declension nouns are normally feminine, second declension nouns are typically masculine or neuter and third declension nouns may be feminine, masculine or neuter. Third declension nouns also require greater alterations to the root word prior to the addition of the endings that show case and number.

Root words for third declension nouns may have consonant stems or i-stems. Examples of consonant stem nouns include rex, mater, and opus, which mean king, mother and work, respectively. The i-stem nouns include mare, hostis, and animal, which may be translated as sea, enemy and animal, respectively. To understand the distinction, an abbreviated overview of the cases for nouns may be helpful.

The function of a noun within a sentence determines its case. Latin uses seven different cases, which are the nominative, genitive, dative, accusative, ablative, locative and vocative cases. The nominative case is sometimes called the naming or subject case, and it is the first form of the noun listed in a dictionary. To illustrate, rex, mater, opus, mare, hostis and animal are all in the nominative case. Possession is shown through the use of the genitive case, and the proper genitive case for a Latin noun is shown as the second word in a dictionary.

Genitive case for third declension nouns often represents a significant change from the nominative. For example, rex becomes regis,opus becomes operis, mare becomes maris and animal becomes animalis. Once the genitive singular form is known, it is relatively simple to form the other cases.

For third declension consonant stem singular cases, drop the -is from the genitive singular and add -i, -em, or –e to form the dative, accusative and ablative singular cases, respectively. Plural case endings for the nominative and accusative cases depend on whether the noun is neuter; add -es for feminine and masculine forms and -a for neuter forms in both the nominative and accusative plural. The respective endings for the plural genitive, dative and ablative cases are the same, regardless of gender. Add -um for genitive and -ibus for both the dative and ablative cases.

Language & Humanities is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Link to Sources
Discussion Comments
Language & Humanities, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

Language & Humanities, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.